Nine more matches today - seven of which were "flexible" matches. One of the matches is most proud of the "atchevments" he has "acompleshed". I'm sorry, I am already aware that I am a bit of a grammar and spelling freak, and I know it makes me come across as a bitch. Here's the thing, though - if you don't know how to spell a word, feel free to substitute with a word you can spell. If you're not a "wordy," it's quite alright! It's more aggravating to read misspelled "big" words than properly spelled "easy" words.
I would be more impressed by someone who correctly spelled "the things I've done" or even "the stuff I've done" than by someone who put "the atchevments I hav acompleshed." (sic)
It actually says on the website, when you're inputting the answers to these questions, that spelling and grammar are important. It's really true, too. Not just because with some of the words, the person reading your profile has to sit and ponder for a few minutes to determine what you are trying to say, but also because it points to diligence and interest in getting things done right. Even more than intelligence. Anyone can copy, letter by letter, the spelling of a word, which is why I don't think spelling really indicates intelligence. But if you are trying to make a first impression that will draw people to you... Don't you do the most you can to make yourself appealing? While still remaining yourself, of course.
Anyways.
Suitor B - 34, IT professional, clean cut, no kids - has sent his first Open Communication, and I will respond probably tomorrow. A full paragraph, coherent sentences, open-ended questions to reply to, etc.
I also received a response from Suitor D - 30, aircraft tech, no picture, no kids that I know of - last night: "K." (In response to my comment about communicating online rather than by phone, and to have a good long weekend.)
Interesting, though, the two different styles of communication. Both have been fairly quick to respond, but Suitor B went through all the channels and provided several items to respond to in the first Open Communication. Suitor D skipped directly to Open Communication and has not given me much to work with when it comes to carrying on a conversation. Shy? Quite possibly. But then why not use the safer, guided communication, to begin with? Curious.
Day Sixteen
Okay, eight new matches today. At least one of whom was matched with the other person I know using the service, yesterday or the day before.
All of them flexible matches. Lol.
Day Seventeen
Nine matches today. Communication from Suitor B, and from one of the new matches... Nothing interesting.
Was actually matched up with an Austrian yesterday - have started communication there. How much more Old World could a girl get? Good thing I've promised myself never to go with Old Country men - because this one's a cutie. But I'm pretty sure I'm still promised to one of the guys my dad used to work with. Ehm. Promised to the son of one of the guys my dad used to work with. Ehm. And by "promised" I mean... No, you know what? Don't worry about it. Nevermind. Forget I went there.
How about that local sports team, eh?
Work is nuckin futs at the moment. Will think about dating at a later time.
Day Eighteen
Seven matches today. Good times, good times. A gentleman who is outside my age range - by a decent margin - wanting to discuss affection.
Wait...
Something that is an integral part of who I am is this: I am not affectionate. Well, I enjoy people, but I'm not one of those women who snuggles or cuddles or molests their partner on the street. And I honestly think the world thanks me for this.
So here's an older gentleman, who is big on affection. I'm thinking... no.
Because I can't be outright bitchish, I can't just close the match, though! He's nice enough. But he's big on affection. I'm thinking this is how these sites suck you in - they guilt you into it. If you don't want to come across as a raging lettered bitch, you can't just hit "Close" when someone isn't attractive or isn't what you're looking for.
Because what if they are? What if the reason you're still alone is because what is attractive or what you're looking for is either a fantasy or a disgusting parody of real life?!!?!?!?!
The things that keep single girls up at night...
Day Nineteen
Six matches - but haven't had a chance to look at em yet. Busy busy.
Day Twenty
One match. Thus begins our foray into the desirable real estate known as: "Grasping at Straws." Perhaps this weekend I'll have a chance to be pleasantly surprised by previous matches, but at the moment I am not holding my breath.
Suitors A and C have not yet responded. Suitor B is keeping an open dialogue - seems to be a nice guy! Suitor D is... well, he's closed, because he responds within one minute of my messages. And the conversation - such as it is - feels like I'm dragging every word out of his mou... fingers, I guess. Normally, this is not much of a problem. I enjoy quiet as much as the next person, but if I'm in a "quiet-time" mode.... I don't respond immediately. I don't understand writing back right away in order to say : "good."
Just because it's faster doesn't mean it's better.
But I'm really finding this scenic journey to bitterness intriguing! As somewhat of a dork, I suppose I've also kept a hidden idea(r) of "the perfect man" somewhere in my head. I don't sit for hours and plan out who/where/how/when, but I guess there are more things that I need in a partner than I'd have thought previously. Previously, I'd have said: "ability to kill a spider, ability to be ignored if'n I'm involved in a really good book, and he has to be taller than me." Now, of course, now I have to add: "Literate. A reader. Not going to fondle and fawn over his partner in public. Not interested in finding someone to take the place of his 24/7 bosom buddy. Not interested to go from being a stranger to being bedmates in 3.2 seconds flat." Okay, the last point is negotiable. But you get my drift.
Day Twenty-One
One match.
Not within my geographical area, but he wants to speak.
Still no word from Suitors A or C, and I've closed the match with Suitor D. Does this make me a horrible person? Dragging words from someone is just... too much effort...
Day Twenty-Two - Today
Six matches today - one of whom has his profile picture set to him lying on the bed, cuddling with a pillow... Win... And his answer to "what are you most passionate about?" is: "I'm not really passionate about anything."
Another win! A guy who has a mugshot as his profile pic!
All six were flexible matches.
No new communications from anyone being studied at the moment, but Suitor A did visit my profile yesterday - there's a lovely "Who's Viewed Me" tab. Of course, being that I am the way I am, I have set it up so that if I'm viewing a profile, it comes up as anonymous. Sometimes I change back and forth, but when I'm checking out the new matches that first day, I mean... you don't necessarily want to encourage them to come see your profile, right?