Monday, August 31, 2009

Normal Girls and Bitterness - Part Two

So on the eighth day, I received matches.

Six of em. Not too shabby, nobody who (at this point) made me want to hide under my bed for the remainder of all time. However, of the six matches, two had been matched previously with the other person I know using this service.

33% of the matches were duplicated in this other person's list. Awesome.

Day Nine

Another seven matches! A few of them were flexible matches, but again, nothing terrifying. Decided to take a calculated risk and start communication with one of my previous six matches. Still checking out the seven, deciding if it's really worth it.

And one of the matches that was in my friend's list... closed the match. "Taking a break from dating." Then... uhmmm... why are you paying for this service? But it's okay, I'm not heartbroken.

Time for bed!

Day Ten

So it seems that "7" might be my lucky number. Another seven matches this morning, AND an answer to the communication sent last night.

If I were hanging my hopes on this service, I might be getting giddy right now! But, to be fair, it's not the be all and end all of life for me. I can see how people can get into the service, though... It's nice and completely anonymous. Sure, you've answered questions and are using your own name, but it's not like you are sitting in a room with these people right off the bat.

Of course... this way, you run the risk of meeting someone who looks good on paper, and who you feel has been vetted out... and then they turn out to be not at all who you thought they were. It happens "in real life" as well, sure, but when you've spent the time "talking" to this person online in a "safe" environment...? That realization's gonna hit you like a ton of bricks falling from the Eiffel Tower.

BUT! That's for later. We haven't gotten to that point yet! Right now, we're at the butterflies, and ohmygoodness look at him, and why'd you put that you wished more people realized how smart you are as an answer? Am I the only one who finds that to be a total turnoff?

Look at me demmit! I'm smrt!

Because, you know, there were spelling and grammatical errors rampant through the profile. This isn't particularly indicative of intelligence, believe me, I know. But you can't make the claim without backing it up. Right? Perhaps I'm being just a little bit too picky. But if I say that I wish more people realized how beautiful I am, then post pictures of me at my absolute worst... I mean... it's almost like inviting criticism.

mental note to self... due to the vast legions of horrible photos available, do not claim to be anything other than a troll. Check.

Alright, time to get back to work! (Sort of... going to open communication with another person this evening.)

Day Eleven

Another - you guessed it - seven matches today.

One of whom started communication within hours. So this is the way the communication is set up at the moment: one who I do not find attractive or a match at all, one who is pretty - sorry, there's really not a whole lot else I can say about him, and one who seems to be the sort of person I'd enjoy.

The person I find least compelling, of course, is the one who is answering within hours. Intriguing. So we'll see how things go - if they go - among these three. These shall be my beginner case studies! Oh, how I enjoy case studies... These following lists, by the way, do not correlate with the way I listed these gentlemen in a previous paragraph. I am certain you will be able to determine who is who, but I won't lay it out until the end - whether the match gets closed or suddenly I'm married. L.O.L.

Suitor A - is 32, a mechanic, has children (2, I believe), has a motorbike and tattoos, is 6'0"

Suitor B - is 34, an IT professional, does not have children, clean-cut appearance, is 5'9"

Suitor C - is 28, a "solutions architect," does not have children, urban cowboy appearance, is 5'11"

FUN! Oh, I look forward to the case study-ness. But for now, I need to eat some dinnah.

Day Twelve

What?!?! Not seven matches today... Nine... Every last one of them a "flexible" match. Interesting. Looks to me like we're running out of people that are compatible with my awesomeness. *wink*

One thing that would be really nice would be the option to select how important reading is to you. I mean, I've gotten several that answered the "What was the last book you read and really enjoyed? What was it about?" question with: "I'm not much of a reader. Unless (magazines/user manuals/cereal boxes) count." This is me. I'm a bit of a bibliophile. Someone who doesn't read?!?

That's ridiculous.

Anyways. No communications from Suitor A or C, but Suitor B replied. We're on round two now, will see how that goes.

Yet another person who said that he wished people would notice how smart he is. And also, even better, one guy who, in answer to the question: "Besides physical appearance, what is the first thing people notice about you?", said: "How smart I am."

*head hits desk*

Apparently intelligence so oozes out of this guy's pores that one is smacked about the face with his supreme smrts. Before noticing his scent, or the way he carries himself, or his courtesy with others, one notices how smart he is. I can actually picture a first - ehm, and probably last - date with this guy.

Meet at the restaurant, because of course I'm driving myself. Don't know if I want this guy to know where I live yet - lol - plus, it's just a good idea for a first date. Little nervous, smooth the hair, calm the butterflies, check to make sure there's no giant piece of spinach in my teeth. Okay. I look decent.

Check out the restaurant, and he's waiting in the foyer. Before making myself known, I take a second to appreciate (or shudder at) his appearance, and then I take one step towards him, two...

... and WHAMMO! A forcefield of magnificent knowledge and understanding surrounds him as he opens his grinning lips and says, "Yeah, that happens to everyone. I'm super smart."

As I pick myself up off the ground - he's smart enough to know that germs can be spread by touching, so of course he doesn't offer a hand - I nervously chuckle and make note of all the nearest exits. As I'm frantically trying to dial myself on my cell phone, just to have an excuse to get away.

Day Thirteen

Eight matches today... New communication from Suitor B but nothing from Suitors A or C - but the matches aren't closed, so you let yourself think it's nothing personal. Perhaps A and C are just spending some time crafting the perfect answers...

... uhm. To the multiple-choice questions...

Three more "I don't really read"s. *sigh*

Day Fourteen - Today

Ten matches today! A bunch of flexible matches - most of whom are not within the age range that I selected. And six or seven "I don't read"s. Hm. Is reading archaic? Is it unrealistic to expect someone who is thrilled to spend a few hours with a good book - be it text or prose?

Hrm.

Someone asked to "Fast Track" yesterday. Now, "Fast Track" means you jump directly to "Open Communication" - essentially e-mailing through the service. If you go with "Guided Communication" you first select five (pre-written) multiple choice questions for your match to answer, then they send you their five. Then you send your "must haves" and "can't stands". After this, you go to round two - three short answer questions that can either be selected from a provided list or made up by yourself.

Then there's Open Communication - the e-mailing, private messaging, sort of thing.

So. Here's the history of communication with this gentleman - we'll call him Suitor D - so far:

Suitor D: Hows it going Sept 4 10:10 PM

Me: Pretty good, Suitor D. How are things with you? Sept 4 10:11 PM (happened to be on when the message was sent)

Suitor D: Things are going ok Sept 4 10:20 PM

Suitor D: Hey would you be free sometime for a coffee? Sept 5 1:32 PM

Me: When did you have in mind? Sept 5 7:45 PM

Suitor D: How about sometime this weekend? If that will work for you Sept 5 7:56 PM (sent twice)

Me: Actually, the next couple of weekends are no good. Can we rain check? Chat for a bit first? Sept 5 8:01 PM (as I am currently composing this blog... lol...)

I'm beginning to think that perhaps I'm not taking this as seriously as some of my matches... I am an impatient person - it's true, I embrace it - but consistently responding within minutes of communications being sent? With Suitor B and Suitor D... who just sent me another message - let me go read it.

Suitor D: You bet here's my number ### ### #### Sept 5 8:06 PM

... How to respond? I meant chat with the Open Communication... Hrm. Perhaps I'll just say that.

Me: Sorry! I meant on here... Little too early for phone for me. I've got to take off now, though. Enjoy your long weekend and I'll catch up with you in a bit! Sept 5 8:09 PM

How do you go from being matched one day to having coffee the next? His profile is practically bare and there was no guided communication to start with.

Suitor B is at the Open Communication stage, but we have not taken that step yet. Quite possibly because I did not write answers he wanted to read in the short answer phase. Suitor A is at the "Send Must Haves / Can't Stands" phase, and Suitor C is still on the first five questions.

This is actually really interesting - keywords that seem to be unacceptable to matches in my age range: ridiculous, responsible, reading. T'would appear men between the ages of 28 and 38 who are on this service are looking for: level-headed, irresponsible, non-readers - or perhaps are level-headed, irresponsible, non-readers. Too little information to tell, at this point.