Tuesday, August 2, 2011

Normal Girls and Bitterness ... The Reboot

Hollywood's doing a lot of "Gritty Reboots" to classic tales lately... Though no one with the remotest grip on sanity and/or reality would ever consider my lovelife (or lack thereof) to be a classic tale, I thought I'd give this blog the same treatment. Um. Minus the "gritty" part. So... Enjoy! Or don't. It's really up to you...

7.26.11

It has been some time since last I posted. So much has changed, and even more is exactly the same...

The biggest changes are that I now own my own home (with my sister), and I have a man in my life. :) His name is Henry, and he has brown eyes and mostly black hair. We go for strolls just about every evening, and the best part is that he usually lets me and my cat sleep in on the weekends and wakes up my sister instead when he's feeling rambunctious.

Oh, he's a dog. Maybe I should have mentioned that right off the bat.

In short, not a whole hell of a lot has changed in my personal dating world. I have, however, restarted the online quest. Armed with the knowledge I gained from my previous brush with online dating, tonight I rebooted my account on the free site and took the liberty of perusing a few of my so-called matches.

Amusingly, the gentleman that I had been matched with previously and gone out with twice is on the match list for my new account. I can't decide whether I should laugh at this or find it a slightly disturbing omen for how this go-round will be... I'm sure there's got to be a way to remove people from your match list...?

7.27.11

Received an e-mail from the free site today stating that someone had given me a high rating. The way this works is that you are shown a bunch of photos and have to rate the people. If you give a high rating to the person who gave you a high rating, then you're both informed that you're a match. If you don't give the right person a high rating, you don't find out who rated you so highly.

Neat. Awkward, but neat.

Last night I sent a few messages to a few different potential matches - one of them was not a very high match, but his profile made me smile so I had to. After reading a lot of blather about how these guys are all about one thing and one thing only (be it working out, mountain biking, gaming, what have you) - or alternatively, and not much better, so totally about finding the right woman forever and ever amen, right now - this profile stood out. His answers were peppered with self-deprecating (but not whiny) humour and a fair amount of quirkiness. However, he hasn't been online for more than a month, so I'm not even sure if he's still an active user of the site.

Anyways...

7.28.11

Nothing so far today. Well, that's not true. A notification that someone was looking at my profile. I don't know why they send you e-mails about that... Unless you only get an e-mail if they rate something? I don't know.

One guy who was a sort of match has almost the same photo as the person who was looking at my profile. Same lighting, same technique, and from the half-face you could see on the match, looks to be the same guy. Vaguely reminds me of Rainn Wilson, actually.

Weird.

Ah, so yep, it's the same dude. He wanted to see how his new matches stack up against his old ones, with a new profile. Looking at the rest of the pics, he reminds me even more of Rainn Wilson now. Amusing dude, too.

7.29.11

Aside from a few messages - sadly, none from anyone I'm even remotely pulled towards - not a whole heck of a lot going on.

Oh, a new e-mail. A new message! I don't recognize the username it's from... And the whole of the message is "how are you?" I'm not going to go peruse the profile right now (I'm at work), so we'll check it out later. I hate messages like "how are you?" and the last one I got before this was:

"hi! welcome back,,,,,,,,,,,your pretty."

... First of all, if you're going to indicate dramatic pauses, do it the same way everyone else does on the interwebz: with ellipses. Also, he had nothing open-ended, so an idiotic shy person like me can only respond with "Hi! And thank you." Because I don't find the guy attractive, and his entire profile is made up of commas and extra vowels, and I'm reasonably sure that this is someone who had sent me messages before, though the profile name is different. The writing "style" is most definitely the same.

I've also figured out how to hide users from being on my match list, so dude from last go-round no longer shows up.

7.30.11 - 8.02.11

Been chatting with one guy fairly regularly the last few days (actually, the guy who had only asked "how are you" originally), seems like a good dude. Seriously, he seems like a nice guy. I just don't know how excited I am about it. Not very, if I had to hazard a guess, but is excitement all that important? But I'm not sure if I'm wary due to my previous experiences or if I just feel rather blah about the whole thing.

A few more profiles that made me giggle, so I sent messages, did the "rating a person based on part of a profile and some pictures" thing for awhile... Mostly I spent the weekend outside or hanging with family, though, so...

OH! Yeah, and one dude asking for tips on where to live and where to get a job when he moves here... ... ... ... Mmmmhmmmmm.




PROTIP: Confused? Welcome to my life 93.6% of the time. Click here to read from the beginning...